Don’t Waste Your Time, “Aleister Crowley”

picture by Pop Culture Pastor

My reasons for writing this blog are not to judge the secular artists, but to judge the message behind their songs.  Some may call it entertainment, I call it propaganda.   Some may call it art, I call it deception.  It is what it is!   Most people don’t want to waste their time exposing the evil of secular music.  The truth of the matter is we should not waste our time listening to it!  There are times I am weary of the subject regarding secular music then I hear artist like Lady Gaga and Jay-Z boldly preaching the philosophy of Aleister Crowley and on what they think to be “A Truth” (they believe in many truths mixed with lies) and Christians eat it up like candy and praise them for understanding how people really feel.

  • A Truth: (their message) we need to love ourselves just the way God made us.  Genesis 2:7 (New International Version) 7 Then the LORD God formed a man[a] from the dust of the ground and breathed into his nostrils the breath of life, and the man became a living being.  Gen 2:22-24 Genesis 2:22-24 (New International Version) 22 Then the LORD God made a woman from the rib[a] he had taken out of the man, and he brought her to the man. 23 The man said, “This is now bone of my bones and flesh of my flesh; she shall be called ‘woman,’ for she was taken out of man.”  24 That is why a man leaves his father and mother and is united to his wife, and they become one flesh.
  • The Truth: (God’s message) we need to love ourselves but not allow sin to rule over our life. Genesis 4:7 (New International Version) 7 If you do what is right, will you not be accepted? But if you do not do what is right, sin is crouching at your door; it desires to have you, but you must rule over it.”
  • A Truth: (their message) God doesn’t make mistakes! Genesis 6:6-8 (New International Version)6 The LORD regretted that he had made human beings on the earth, and his heart was deeply troubled. 7 So the LORD said, “I will wipe from the face of the earth the human race I have created—and with them the animals, the birds and the creatures that move along the ground—for I regret that I have made them.” 8 But Noah found favor in the eyes of the LORD.
  • The Truth: (God’s message) God made us in his image, but sin in our life has to do with our rebellion towards God.  Matthew 18:7, “Woe to the world because of the things that cause people to sin! Such things must come, but woe to the man through whom they come! NIV.  Humans are fallible creatures.  

What are some of their philosophies? “Do What Thou Wilt.” This philosophy is connected to the beliefs of the artist I have researched in one way or other and that is not “A Truth” but “The Truth!”  Philosophy: a personal outlook or viewpoint.   Aleister Crowley worked on developing his own philosophy for years. The following is just some of his beliefs:

1)     “The law of the strong: this is our law and the joy of the world.” AL.11:21

2)     “Do what thou wilt shall be the whole of the Law.” AL I.40

3)     “Thou hast no right but to do thy will.  Do that, and no other shall say nay AL. I.42-3

4)     “Every man and every woman is a star.” AL. I 40

5)     There is no god but man. A. man has the right to live by his own law—to live in the way that he wills to do: to work as he will: to play as he will: to rest as he will: to die when and how he will.

6)     Man has the right to love as he will:-“TAKE YOUR FILL AND WILL OF LOVE AS YE WILL.” Al. I 51

7)     Man has the right to kill those who would thwart these rights.

All Aleister Crowley works copyright © Ordo Templi Orientis 

This philosophy is the foundation of most secular artist.  This is what they preach to millions every opportunity they get.  No restrains do whatever pleases you!    Don’t let anyone dictate to how you should live your life.   

In Justin Bieber’s first big interview with Rolling Stone Magazine he was asked what he thought about Gay Issues.  Justin Bieber says:  “It’s everyone’s own decision to do that. It doesn’t affect me and shouldn’t affect anyone else.”

It’s sound to me like Justin Bieber has the same concept of “Do what thou wilt.” You could do whatever you want to do!

In Entertainment Magazine, Furnish (Elton John’s partner) talks about Elton John and Lady Gaga’s performance together at the Grammys.  As explained by Furnish, the singer is different (Lady Gaga), “incredibly tolerant.”  “She believes that everyone can be what he wants, we do not have been conformists, and the individuality of each will only benefit everyone.  This is the best that can broadcast the world: the freedom to be yourself, “do what thou wilt”, and love the one you love, said the satellite life of Elton John.

Matthew 16:24 (New International Version) 24 Then Jesus said to his disciples, “Whoever wants to be my disciple must deny themselves and take up their cross and follow me.

DENY; may even refer to self-denial-withholding or abstaining from the pleasures of the world for the sake of Christ (From Nelson’s Illustrated Bible Dictionary).

Matthew 16:24 (The Message) 24-26Then Jesus went to work on his disciples. “Anyone who intends to come with me has to let me lead. You’re not in the driver’s seat; I am. Don’t run from suffering; embrace it. Follow me and I’ll show you how. Self-help is no help at all. Self-sacrifice is the way, my way, to finding yourself, your true self. What kind of deal is it to get everything you want but lose yourself? What could you ever trade your soul for?

We must deny ourselves comparatively; we must deny ourselves for Christ, and his will and glory, and the service of his interest in the world; we must deny ourselves for our brethren, and for their good; and we must deny ourselves for ourselves, deny the appetites of the body for the benefit of the soul (PC Study Bible).

My challenge for this week is for you to study the lyrics and compare them to God’s word! This is black and white as far as I’m concerned there is no second guessing.  I pray that you can see it for what it is and admit that the teaching of Aleister Crowley and his followers are contrary to the Word of God. 

Stay tuned next week’s title Stop Stumbling Around “The Beatles,” Barbara Casas

~ by barbaracasasblog on March 18, 2011.

10 Responses to “Don’t Waste Your Time, “Aleister Crowley””

  1. So very true as a true Christian we need to be aware of the type of music we are listening to. We can’t just say well I like the beat that’s why I listen to it, we have to pay attention to the message not the beat. There are so many types and styles available in Christian music that have the beat you are looking for with out the negativity and propaganda offered in secular music. I pray that everyone wakes up to the reality that is involved in secular music and turn from it. Can’t wait til next weeks blog!

    • Thank you S. Terry for staying faithfull to this blog and your participation it will help others to understand how serious this issue effects our walk with Christ! I can’t wait either for what God is going to do on next weeks blog. lol

  2. Good information Sister Barbara. I admire how you always bring it… You are a tremendous blessing…Praying tor you…LYL. Becky

  3. I have an announcement at first I didn’t get everything you were saying about music influencing our everyday lives. I had an opportunity to hear you in person at a church on your teaching of exposing the works of darkness. Now I have been reading your blogs weekly.

    I was still a little skeptical on if music really influences us because I still listen to some positive alternative music. We’ll I had an opporutnity to share your blog with my husband (a non-believer). He is into all those hard core rock bands (metallica, slip knot, lamb of god, etc). He took your challenge and has not listened to secular music in two weeks. I noticed a change in his behavour lately, he has been nice, connecting emotionally with me, and so on. I asked him recently what have you been doing? Because I have been shocked with the way he has been so nice. He told me he took your challenge and has not listened to secular music in two weeks.

    I never knew why he was such an angry man! I didn’t know it had to do with music. Since hes stopped listening to his music he is a changed man. Now I totally believe you about music playing a key role in how a person’s emotions may change when they listen to secular music.

    Thank you so much for allowing God to use you! To open others eyes who are not aware of the works of darkness :) I will continue to keep you in my prayers!

    • Exactly!!! There is a connection between with what we subject ourselves to through visual and audio that effect our emotions. If it is negative it will reap negative emotions and if it is positive it will reap positive. People just have to be open and to put it to the test. God is concerned for people and loves them so much that He reveals the truth to us one way or another its up to us if we want to listen. Thanks for your comment.

  4. Wow great job! It’s about time someone speaks up against secular music. The truth needs to be heard!

    • Hey Jen thanks for your support! Yes indeed the truth has to be spoken!!!! The world doesn’t hold back on what they believe and boldly speak their minds. What about us christians? Are we speaking it out the truth of God’s word? We cann’t stay silent any longer!!! Time is running out! Psalms 81:10, Open your mouth wide and I will fill it!!! Psalms 89:1, with my mouth I will make your faithfulness known through all generations!!!

  5. Another great post Mom, God bless,

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 95 other followers

